The Northern Student Teacher Bursary is a return service bursary of $8,000 per year for two years, and is offered to students in the last two years of a Bachelor of Education degree.  It is meant to encourage students to plan to teach in participating northern school divisions upon completion of their degree.

Take your teaching career to a whole new level — go north where you’ll enjoy variety, challenge and a warm welcome. Plus, you may have a job lined up before you even graduate! Northern Alberta offers a wide range of settings and experiences. Alberta Education, StudentAid Alberta, and the Northern Alberta Development Council provide funding to make it happen. This bursary of $16,000 is for an education program student in their second to last year of study ($8,000/year).

You may be eligible for a Northern Student Teacher Bursary (NSTB) if you are:

  • a Canadian citizen enrolled full-time in a post-secondary program at a designated institution
  • in the last two years of an Education program leading to a Bachelor of Education with a specialty in the following areas:
  1. Chemistry
  2. Construction/Carpenter Trade
  3. Cosmetology/Esthetics
  4. Cree
  5. Drama
  6. Electro-Technologies/ Electrician
  1. Fabrication/ Welder Trade
  2. Fine Arts
  3. Foods/Cook Trade
  4. French Immersion
  5. Math
  6. Mechanics/Auto Service Technician Trade
  7. Other CTS


  1. Other Language
  2. Music/Band
  3. Physics
  4. Science
  5. Special Ed

You increase your chance of success if:

  • you complete the application fully and answer the essay questions clearly and concisely
  • you demonstrate an interest in northern Alberta and knowledge of northern employment opportunities
  • have an acceptable academic record and have attached a copy of your latest transcript

The return service commitment:

Students who receive a bursary agree to live and work as a teacher in one of the participating school divisions following completion of their program. Students commit to the north for three full-time years (or equivalent) for two years of bursary funding. Recipients who do not fulfill this requirement must repay the bursary.


To apply for this bursary, use the Northern Alberta Development Council on-line application.  Click here to start.  Our applications are also available in PDF form as a resource only. Paper applications will not be accepted.

Application deadline:

Applications must be received by October 7, 2016.

School divisions that are participating in the Northern Student Teacher Bursary:

Aspen View Regional Division No. 19
East Central Francophone Education Region No. 3
Fort McMurray Public School District No. 2833
Fort Vermilion School Division No. 52
Fort McMurray Roman Catholic Separate School District No. 32
Grande Prairie School District No. 2357
Grande Yellowhead Regional Division No. 35
Grande Prairie Roman Catholic Separate School District No. 28
Greater North Central Francophone Education Region No. 2 (Fort McMurray and Jasper only)
Holy Family Catholic Regional Division No. 37
High Prairie School Division No. 48
Lakeland Roman Catholic Separate School District No. 150
Living Waters Catholic Regional Division No. 42
Northern Gateway Regional Division No. 10
Northern Lights School Division No. 69
Northland School Division No. 61
Northwest Francophone Education Region No. 1
Peace River School Division No. 10
Peace Wapiti School Division No. 76
Pembina Hills Regional Division No. 7
St. Paul Education Regional Division No. 1